Oh! I do like to be beside the seaside!

My Valentine’s present this year was a trip to Blackpool, which my fiancé and I finally got to enjoy this weekend.

We checked into our hotel on the promenade and then walked to the tower. After some tea and scones, we attempted some dancing in the beautiful ballroom and then headed to the 4D cinema (which was very entertaining) before climbing to the top of the tower to take in the views.

Once we’d taken lots of silly pictures on the SkyWalk, we had fish & chips at Yorkshire Fisheries and then entered the Blackpool Tower Dungeon. Despite the fact I’m a total scaredy-cat when it comes to these things, I really enjoyed it!

Afterwards we went to the North Pier, where David once again beat me at air hockey (I don’t know how he does it) and then over to the Central Pier, where I had SO much fun on the dodgems (something I’ve never done before)!

We ended the evening at La Fontana, which was a lovely Italian restaurant with gorgeous food and a fantastic ambience.

The next morning we went to the Sandcastle Waterpark, which I was very apprehensive about as I’ve not been swimming for years, but once I got into the water I loved it (well, aside from the scary water slide David convinced me to go on…) and I can’t wait to go swimming again!

Finally we walked along the South Pier whilst enjoying some ice cream before heading home. We stopped at one of my favourite pubs, the Plough Inn in Euxton for lunch on the way back which was a perfect end to a fantastic weekend.

(For those of you that are wondering, the random flamingo in some of the pictures is called Barnaby, who we took home from Martin Mere last year and has gone on holiday with us ever since)

