Over the Hills and (somewhat) Far Away

I’ve already decided on one of my New Year’s resolutions, which is to make a posting schedule for this blog and stick to it! All too often I find myself thinking “I’ll write about that when I get a chance” but before I can sit down long enough to form a sentence I find myself busy doing something else.

It would also mean I can attempt to do some justice to the wonderful places I’ve visited and the shows I’ve seen, rather than a hurried paragraph in a long catch-up post. I have a few ideas I’d like to try next year so hopefully I will have the time to do them.

In the meantime, the catch-up posts will have to continue as I have been busy wedding planning (designing the decorations, sorting the guest list, choosing the flowers and attending the all important Wedding Dress fittings) among other things! In my last entry, I mentioned I was going on a 007 adventure in London… Specifically Madame Tussauds with my mum to see the six James Bond wax figures.

MTBonds

David and I went on a day trip to Norwich, which I would love to visit again and stay for longer as there was a lot to see but we only had time to do a little bit of Christmas shopping and see the Castle before most places closed due to it being a Sunday. Norwich Cathedral will be first on my list! We’ve also been to Keswick, Carlisle, Newcastle and the Metrocentre on our travels.

Another weekend was spent at the Honister Slate Mine to watch the VSCC Lakeland Trial, which has to be one of my favourite car events. It’s a fantastic sight to see vintage cars clambering up the side of a fell and guessing which ones will make it to the top. This year it was rather foggy, which made for some very dramatic scenery.

Speaking of cars, we have visited Brooklands Museum, Bicester Heritage and of course the The Lancaster Insurance Classic Motor Show at the NEC. I’m particularly pleased with the latter event as Classic Car Weekly used some of my photography from the show.

Finally, we we went to see Spectre which I was 99% happy with aside from the ending… I can’t put my finger on it but I just don’t like it, even after a second viewing. It’s not as good as Skyfall, but I am thrilled that the gun barrel is back where it ought to be!

Save

Leave a Reply

