Not the gumdrop buttons!

Before I start rambling on about gingerbread, cake and more gingerbread (seriously there’s a lot of gingerbread in this post) I want to congratulate my best friend Michelle and her fiancΓ©. They welcomed their beautiful baby girl into the world on Saturday. I’m so happy for them and I wish them all the luck and love in the world for the future!

With less than week to go until Christmas, I’ve been busy making and baking all sorts of gifts and ornaments for people (which sadly I can’t put on here as they’re a surprise) whilst watching the fabulous Kirstie’s Homemade Christmas.

First up was this fantastic glitter jelly from Hartley’s which you can buy in strawberry or raspberry flavour. I’m a fan of anything that involves glitter (much to the despair of my other half) so when I spotted it in ASDA I just had to give it a try. I’ve not tried the raspberry one yet, but the strawberry one was delicious.

Then I made some of my own gingerbread men, which were pretty nice but not gingery enough for me… I must dig out the old Ormskirk gingerbread recipe I have in a folder somewhere, nothing compares to it!

Speaking of Ormskirk gingerbread, I was absolutely thrilled when I found out I could purchase a figurine from the Ormskirk Community Partnership. It’s a perfect reminder of my home town and never fails to make me smile! You can follow them on Facebook and Twitter for more details.

CWM7raEWIAEb2zX.jpg large

Also on the gingerbread theme, I made this little guy from a felt kit. I’m still undecided as to whether or not I want to give him away, just look at his little face! Looks like I’m going to have to make another one…

I had a lot of fun making these melted snowmen cupcakes, I was a bit wary when I first started because icing and I usually don’t get on (so many cakes have ended in disaster once icing has been introduced) but I think this time I might have cracked it!

My final bake for this week was a batch of scones, which wasn’t festive, but very enjoyable (both to make and eat) regardless. I’m looking forward to trying out more advanced recipes in the new year and hopefully increasing my confidence, especially with savoury dishes.

Despite spending all of my free time working on various mini projects, I took time out to see Simply Red on Friday and Duran Duran on Saturday. As usual with my favourite artists, no one will do anything for ages and then all go on tour at the same time! It was an exhausting weekend but I loved every second of every song.

Simply Red: Big Love Tour

Duran Duran: Paper Gods Tour

I’m off to pack my suitcase and everyone’s presents for Christmas with my family, I can’t wait! If I don’t manage to update before January, I hope everyone has a lovely holiday and great New Year x

Leave a Reply

