C is for Card Making

This Blog is taking part in the April 2016 A to Z Challenge. Don’t forget to check out the other Blogs taking part HERE and follow #AtoZChallenge on Twitter!

What is it?
Card making is one of the easiest papercrafts that can be made at any skill level, from a simple drawing on folded card to ones that pop-up or use intricate cut out shapes to create a pattern. They’re a fantastic way to give something truly personalised and meaningful whilst showing off your creativity.

A2AC2.jpg

Card made with die cut embellishments

What do I need?
For the most basic type of card, all you need is a sheet of card and some coloured pens to add a design to the front. For more advanced cards you can use anything from embellishments and washi tape to die cutting machines. If you want to cut out shapes for your design, a craft knife and cutting mat are essential.

How do I make it?
There are so many different styles you can pick from, but thankfully there are plenty of ideas and tutorials online. My personal favourite is the pop-up kind, which involves gluing another piece of card to the inside, which has only been cut out in certain parts and folded so that when the card is opened it pops up. There are some fantastic designs and templates that you can download on RobertSabuda.

A2A1.jpg

Card, Craft Knife, Cutting Mat, Paper Edger Scissors, Cutting Ruler & Pens

Why do you like it?
It’s such a versatile craft that’s quick, easy to do and the supplies don’t have to be expensive. I also think homemade cards are a lot more meaningful to the person receiving the card, it’s a great activity you can do with children of all ages as they make great keepsakes for years to come, especially if you chose to design yours with hand prints and the like.

A2AC3

Child’s homemade card

What’s your favourite style of card? Do you prefer ones with lots of embellishments or the simpler kind?

9 thoughts on “C is for Card Making

  1. Alex says:

    I like hand making cards. I usually use parchment paper. The last one I tried to make on papyrus, but I messed it up and I couldn’t find my other flattened pieces, so it was still made on parchment. The store bought ones are often generic, and though I prefer clean and simple designs they still have that personal touch of a hand made item.

    When I start travelling next year I want to make postcards for the birthdays of my close friends. Made the day of with a watercolor of whatever I see that reminds me of them that day. They’d get them after the fact, of course, but I think it’s a nice idea and I’m also planning to send them small souvenirs every year that will reach them in time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie says:

      Your postcard idea sounds absolutely wonderful, what a beautiful way to share your adventures with them 🙂 Good luck on your travels!

      Like

  2. Wendy says:

    I have a friend who always sends a homemade card. They are just beautiful. I enjoy some crafts but have never gotten into card making.
    Repaying the visit from AtoZ
    Wendy at Jollett Etc.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Liesbet says:

    There have been many times in the past, where I “needed” to make my own cards, mostly birthday cards, because the “real thing” was not available (while being in the middle of nowhere on a sailboat for example). I had fun doing it, but the results were always VERY simplistic. It’s the thought that counts, right? I did try to make up the lack of creativity with writing a personal poem in the inside. 🙂

    Liesbet @ Roaming About – A Life Less Ordinary

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

