D is for Découpage

This Blog is taking part in the April 2016 A to Z Challenge. Don’t forget to check out the other Blogs taking part HERE and follow #AtoZChallenge on Twitter!

What is it?
Découpage is the technique of cutting out designs from paper and pasting them on to an object to decorate it. Once the chosen item is fully covered, it is then covered in several coats of varnish to protect it.

What do I need?
These days you can buy special découpage paper, but you can also use your favourite wrapping paper, pictures from magazines, paper napkins and wallpaper. As with the paper you can buy découpage glue which also acts as a varnish or you can use PVA and gloss varnish. You will also need a craft knife to cut out your designs, a cloth to wipe any excess glue and a brush for pasting and varnishing.

How do I make it?
First you need to decide what you want to decorate, it can be almost anything from lampshades to boxes and papier mâché animals. You can find a great selection of objects and papers at The Arty Crafty Place website. Once you have chosen your object, cut out the patterns and pictures you want to decorate it with. Arrange the pictures before gluing them down to make sure it looks the way you want it to. Once you’re happy with your layout, use your glue to stick the shapes down. When you’ve covered the entire object and let the glue dry, coat it in several layers of varnish to protect the paper.

Why do you like it?
Découpage is an easy way to give a new lease of life to something that might not fit in with a new colour scheme or that you simply don’t like the look of any more. It also makes a great personalised gift for someone and is a relatively easy activity to do with children, as they can decorate their chosen object with their favourite pictures.

Have you used découpage to decorate something before? What was your favourite thing to cover? I’d love to see your pictures!

16 thoughts on “D is for Découpage

  1. Laura Roberts says:

    What’s the best glue to use for decoupage? I’ve been thinking about covering up a clipboard to make it look nicer, so I think it’s made of some type of wood (particleboard?), but I don’t want the paper to just peel off… any suggestions?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alex says:

    Reminds me of when I was in school and there was a bit of a fad of peeling the foil from the paper in gum wrappers and sticking it to your notebooks. Except it’s not the same at all! Like the pictures of this one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie says:

      In our school all of our teachers insisted that our books had to either be covered with sticky back plastic or wallpaper to “protect them” but they always looked awful!

      Like

  3. Vilje Daisuki says:

    I did a lot of decoupage a few years ago, wonder if my glue is still usable, seeing your post made me want to start again:) I remember I found ripping napkins better than cutting though, but maybe I should have used a crafting knife instead. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. wgr56 says:

    You’re so crafty! And maybe the craftiest thing will be getting all the way to Z on the Challenge! I didn’t know there could be so much craftiness, but I’ll be watching to see how you do! Best wishes, and thanks for visiting my blog!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I.L. Wolf says:

        I’m pretty crafty on the one hand, but on the other hand, I get a liiiitttllle too invested. But it’s fun, especially when you get to haul out two kinds of glue.

        I admit my idea of fun and other people’s idea might not be exactly the same.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

