H is for Hama Beads

This Blog is taking part in the April 2016 A to Z Challenge. Don’t forget to check out the other Blogs taking part HERE and follow #AtoZChallenge on Twitter!

What are they?
Hama Beads (also known as Fuse beads, Melty beads and Perler beads to name a few) are brightly coloured plastic beads that are stuck together by ironing them. There are a huge variety of beads from single colours and patterned to ones that glitter and glow-in-the-dark.

A2ZH1.jpg

Various types of beads and peg boards

Where can I buy them?
You can buy the beads and different shaped pegboards from all major craft stores, some toy shops and online. They come in either single coloured bags, themed sets or large multi-coloured tubs. You will also need protective paper to fuse your beads together with an iron, ironing paper comes with most kits, but greaseproof paper works just as well.

What can I use them for?
Hama beads (and all the other varieties) are great for making pixel art, key rings, coasters and badges. You can find plenty of inspiration and patterns over on Pinterest and I have found cross-stitch designs can work rather well too!

Why do you like it?
Working with the beads can be rather time-consuming but also rather therapeutic depending on how complex your design is. My favourite project was making a mobile for my best friend’s daughter, which was Disney princess themed.

A2ZH3.jpg

Disney themed mobile

What’s been your favourite thing to make? Is there a particular brand you prefer to work with?

35 thoughts on “H is for Hama Beads

  1. Vilje Daisuki says:

    I love Hama beads, I recently started doing it again and bought lots of beads. I found out you could make a bowl out of them too. Just put a bowl that can stand heat, line the inside with perler pop it in the oven for half an hour (I have seen 10 min too) and have the oven on 200 celsius. I am going to try this out, sounds like so much fun. ^^

    (I almost did Hama beads as my H but opted for hooks instead)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. emetomumblog says:

    ohh what a fab a to z theme! i love crafting 🙂 happy to have found you after you commented on my blog 🙂 #atozchallenge

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nicmarray says:

    I used to make magnets with hama beads so much as a kid. I recently picked up some in the last couple years – I hadn’t crafted with hama beads in forever and a day.

    There’s so much out there now – patterns and whatnot. I’ve often found patterns for hama beads that would work wonderfully as cross stitch and vice versa.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie says:

      Ohh magnets sound like a great idea, I’ve not tried that yet 🙂 There are so many ones to choose from these days it’s difficult deciding where to start!

      Like

  4. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    I’ve never heard of Hama Beads! They look interesting. Your mobile is gorgeous! What a nice job you did! I’ll have to keep my eye out for Hama art! Looks neat.
    I work with beads too: I make gemstone jewelry and use all natural gemstones and crystals. I love running my hands over the beads. THAT’s therapeutic to me… 🙂

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie says:

      Thank you so much, I was really pleased with how it turned out 🙂 Your jewellery sounds beautiful, I agree working on things like this can be very therapeutic 🙂

      Like

    • Natalie says:

      Ah, my apologies I’ve been in such a rush to get my entries typed up that I forgot to mention that you lay a piece of ironing paper (greaseproof paper works just as well) over the top of the beads before ironing 🙂 I’ll add that to the post now! I hope you have fun trying them out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

