N is for Newspapers

This Blog is taking part in the April 2016 A to Z Challenge. Don’t forget to check out the other Blogs taking part HERE and follow #AtoZChallenge on Twitter!

What are they?
Newspapers are printed on very thin, low-cost rolls of paper (made from wood pulp) and whilst their primary use is for sharing the daily news, there are SO many more uses for them once you’ve finished reading.

A2ZN Cas

newspaper.JPG by Cas on Flickr, CC 2.0

Where can I buy them?
Newsagents, supermarkets and local shops all sell newspapers, but the easiest thing to do is simply save any old papers people no longer want or collect the free ones that you can find at train stations and so on.

What can I use them for?
Newspapers aren’t just for covering a work service or for making papier mâché, they can be used for loads of projects! Party hats, bracelets, gift bags, ornaments, flowers and photo frames are just a few things you can make, Crafting a Green World has 30 great ideas to get you started.

Why do you like them?
There’s never a shortage of newspapers in our house (thanks to my fiancé) so I’m always keen to incorporate the unused ones in my crafting. As I’ve mentioned it’s such a versatile material and there are so many projects I can’t wait to try in the future!

Do you use newspaper in your crafting? What’s been your favourite thing to make out of it?

13 thoughts on “N is for Newspapers

  1. Cheryl Wright says:

    I remember when I was a little girl my grandmother would make hats, airplanes, and boats out of newspapers. She also showed me how to use play dough and if you pressed it on the newspaper the play dough would pick up the text on the newspaper. I use newspapers instead of a cloth or paper towels to clean my windows. It works awesome!

    Cheryl
    Plucking Of My Heartstrings

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie says:

      That’s so lovely ☺ I’d forgotten you could do that with play dough! My mum always uses newspapers to clean her windows too… I really must try it! ☺

      Like

  2. Janet Miles says:

    The newspapers have changed so much since I was young, getting smaller and thinner now that so much is available on the internet. I don’t use it too much in my crafting since I am mostly a scrapbooker and the ink on the paper is not good to use for preservation. I do like that dress, though. Very clever!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

