V is for Velcro

This Blog is taking part in the April 2016 A to Z Challenge. Don’t forget to check out the other Blogs taking part HERE and follow #AtoZChallenge on Twitter!

What is it?
Velcro is a brand of hook-and-loop fasteners, which are made of two fabric strips. One side is made of loops and the other of hooks. They’re frequently used as fasteners for coats and shoes. It comes in various strengths, as strips or dots and can be self-adhesive or sewn on.

Where can I buy it?
You can buy Velcro from most DIY stores, some supermarkets and online. Hobbycraft has a wide range of products to suit your needs.

What can I use it for?
Velcro has lots of uses including hanging pictures, holding tools and keeping cables tidy. It’s great for any sewing projects that needs an opening such as a cushion. I always add a strip of Velcro to any shopping/tote bags I buy so that I can close them securely.

Why do you like it?
It’s quick and easy to use, especially the self-adhesive type… just cut to the right length, peel of the backing and you’re done! It’s also strong enough to hold heavy items without damaging the wall, which is great if you’re renting your property and want to hang pictures.

What do you use Velcro for? Is there another brand that works better for you?

4 thoughts on “V is for Velcro

  1. Eli Pacheco says:

    Velcro holds my daughters’ soccer jersey sleeves up so she can look tough on the field. Actually, it’s been years since they’ve done this! I could use to Velcro my wallet to my backside so I won’t lose it all the time.

    Glad I found you through the A to Z Challenge.

    ~Eli@CoachDaddy (#878)

    Like

Leave a Reply

