Rock Cake Recipe

The other day, I REALLY wanted some Rock Cakes. My grandma used to make wonderful ones, but sadly I never got around to asking her for the recipe. So I went in search for the recipe online.

I had no idea there were so many different variations! It’s impossible to know which one she followed, so I took my favourite ingredients from several that I found and went with that.

As usual my “Kitchen Experiment” gave me some interesting results. The first batch were far too sticky, the second batch I forgot to set the timer and ended up with a pile of incinerated blobs (whooops) and the third were too runny! I decided to try one last time before giving up… thankfully this time it worked!

The recipe I used in the end was as follows:

  • 225g Plain Flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 75g Butter
  • 50g Caster Sugar
  • 115g Currents
  • 1 tsp Mixed Spice
  • 1 Egg
  • 3 tbsp Milk

First pre-heat the oven to 200°C and cut out a sheet of baking paper to fit your baking tray.

Measure out the flour and baking powder, add to a bowl and then add the butter. Using your fingers, rub the butter into the flour as much as possible until it looks like breadcrumbs.

IMG_20160423_225130

Next measure out the sugar, currents and mixed spice and add them to the flour mixture. Then break the egg into a separate bowl and whisk thoroughly. Add the milk to the egg and pour into the flour and current mixture.

IMG_20160423_225023

Using a spoon, mix all the ingredients together to create a stiff dough. Divide the dough into several heaps onto the baking try, ensuring they are spaced well apart.

IMG_20160423_225219

Bake for approximately 10 minutes or until golden. Cool on a wire rack before serving.

IMG_20160419_115447

Writing this has made me want to make some more, hopefully with less disasters this time! If anyone has a different recipe for rock cakes, please do let me know, I’d love to try it!

One thought on “Rock Cake Recipe

Leave a Reply

