A is for a-ha

This Blog is taking part in the April 2017 A to Z Challenge. Don’t forget to check out the other Blogs taking part by following #AtoZChallenge on Twitter and Facebook!

Artist: a-ha

Song: The Living Daylights

Albums: Analogue & Lifelines

Watched Perform: 2002, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2016

Often when I tell people I’m a fan of a-ha they can only think of ‘Take On Me’ and are surprised to learn that they have done SO much more since the classic 80’s tune was released!

I’ve always loved their music, but I became a dedicated fan in 2002 when I finally had the opportunity to see them perform live. I was blown away by how good they were, especially Morten’s voice. I bought the ‘Lifelines’ album the very next day and since then it has been my favourite alongside ‘Analogue’ which was released in 2005… both came along at significant times in my life and just hearing the opening notes of any of the tracks on them send me right back there.

It’s so hard to pick a favourite song, but ultimately it would have to be ‘The Living Daylights’ because I’m a huge James Bond fan and it sounds absolutely amazing sung live, especially when the crowd joins in! I’ve been to six tours so far and I still get goosebumps like I did back in 2002, something that I hope will continue for a very long time!

12 thoughts on “A is for a-ha

  1. Debbie D. says:

    There’s nothing like the rush of seeing one of your favourite bands/artists perform in person, is there? 🙂 Thanks for the write-up on A-Ha. I’ve heard a few of their songs before, but otherwise don’t know that much about them, other than they’re Norwegian.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sumoflam says:

    I too love a-ha music. Have for years.

    Back in 1990 I was at a Solar Energy Conference in Japan. At lunch I sat down at a table with some of the few non-Japanese at the conference. Turned out these guys were from Norway and one of the guys was actually the lead singer from a-ha. We had a good chuckle and a pleasant visit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

