D is for Duran Duran

This Blog is taking part in the April 2017 A to Z Challenge. Don’t forget to check out the other Blogs taking part by following #AtoZChallenge on Twitter and Facebook!

Artist: Duran Duran

Song: Ordinary World

Album: Rio

Watched Perform: 2008, 2011, 2015

Duran Duran have to be one of my all time favourite bands, I absolutely LOVE them and I’m a proud Duranie (I admit, I still have a huge crush on Simon Le Bon even now). I have at least two favourite songs from every studio album they’ve released (all 14 of them) but my ultimate song will always be ‘Ordinary World’. Despite it being incredibly emotional for me every time I watch them perform it live, the lyrics have helped me a lot in coping with the death of my dad.

In 2008 that I was finally able to go to a Duran Duran concert in Liverpool, and have been lucky enough to see every tour since then. I love every second and it there is always such an electric atmosphere within the crowd… especially when they start singing ‘Rio’!

Their albums have been so varied over the years that you’re bound to find at least one song you like… I can’t wait to hear the next one!

14 thoughts on “D is for Duran Duran

  1. Susan says:

    My son and his friend saw Duran Duran last summer when they came to Canada. He’s a big fan of 80s music, although he’s recently expanded his tastes. It’s a goal of his to see as many old bands as he can before more of the artists die or the bands stop touring. Last month he saw Green Day and he’s hoping to see Depeche Mode in the fall.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie says:

      That’s a great goal to have! I’ve been doing something similar with my favourite artists πŸ™‚ I’ve also seen Green Day several years ago, my sister is a huge fan but I did enjoy it. I hope he gets to see Depeche Mode πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

