E is for Eric Clapton

This Blog is taking part in the April 2017 A to Z Challenge. Don’t forget to check out the other Blogs taking part by following #AtoZChallenge on Twitter and Facebook!

Artist: Eric Clapton

Song: Layla

Album: Backtrackin’

Watched Perform: 2004, 2009

Eric Clapton is, in my opinion, an absolute legend. His guitar riffs are spectacular to witness and the second time I saw him perform I was sat front row, dead centre and I was just overwhelmed by the whole thing.

My dad was a massive fan of Eric and I’m gutted he never got to chance to see him perform with me, I have many fond memories of us singing along to Slowhand’s greatest hits during the long journeys to visit my grandma. When I was 7 years old, dad presented me with an acoustic guitar and said that when I was as good as Eric he would buy me an electric one. Sadly after he died I could no longer face playing and stopped my lessons, but maybe one day I shall pick it up again.

My favourite song has to be Layla, for the fantastic opening riff but a close second is Wonderful Tonight… it’s a beautiful song. I normally prefer studio albums to live ones, but I think Eric’s songs truly shine when they’re performed in front of a crowd which is why Backtrackin’ is my favourite album as it contains a good mix of both.

9 thoughts on “E is for Eric Clapton

  1. Wendy of the rock says:

    Sorry for stating the obvious that we are in London… I just looked at your travel things and you are clearly well aware of where The Royal Albert Hall is. I’m an Australian who just relocated to London this year when my husband was relocated for work.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie says:

      Not to worry! I always assume (probably wrongly) that no one knows where I’m talking about (especially the small villages I visit) so I often do the same 🙂 I hope you’re finding London a nice place to live and that you enjoy the concert! Thank you for stopping by 🙂

      Like

  2. scr4pl80 says:

    Love both of those songs as well. I read the book that Patty wrote about her time with Eric. It was really good. We saw Eric in concert as well but that was one of the most disappointing ones we have seen, unfortunately. He was with Robert Cray and so most of the songs were blues and that was not what we were expecting. My husband was looking for songs from when he was with Cream. He also did not do much playing himself, but rather started the songs and then moved to the back of the stage and let his band take front and center. He did sing Layla and Wonderful Tonight but they were the last two songs. I would see him again but I will make sure that he is touring with a more rock-style line up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Natalie says:

      That is such a shame, I’m not surprised it was disappointing. I was lucky that the tour I saw was more of a “greatest hits” so he performed all his classics… I really hope you get to see him perform properly next time!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

